Should you skip shampoo?

There’s been a movement in the last couple of years to ditch shampoo. I am always game to try a new, natural trend, so I thought I’d share my experience.

First, why are people doing it? Chemicals are the number one reason. Most shampoos expose you to a wide variety of chemicals and known carcinogens. On top of that, they strip the hair of its oil, which is a built in moisturizer. So shampoo can dry out and harm hair, leaving it looking dull and limp. Lovers of the no-poo hair do claim the natural oils keep hair full and shiny and healthy!

So what do they use instead of shampoo? Well that depends, many people just brush hair with a boar bristle brush and rinse with water. Others use baking soda and apple cider vinegar (ACV). Some even use conditioner as both a cleanser and moisturizer.

Doesn’t hair get really oily? The idea is that the hair will naturally produce the right amount of oil, but because we are habitually stripping it of its natural oils many people over produce oil. When you go no-poo the oil is suppose to adjust after a period of time.

My experience: I decided to wash my hair with baking soda and rinse it with ACV. When my hair was short this method worked well. I would put a tablespoon of baking soda in my hand and mix with a few drops of water. I massaged it into my scalp, rinsed, then used diluted ACV to rinse all my hair. I did this 2-3 times a week and in between just rinsed my hair with water or just brushed. It was crucial to brush my hair with a boar bristle brush every day to distribute the oil from my scalp.

I found my hair adjusted after about 2 1/2 weeks. I stopped producing as much oil and my hair did look full and strong! The adjustment period was difficult, my hair looked dull and oily. I used coco powder as a dry shampoo during this time because I have dark hair. Baby powder would work for those with lighter hair.

Ultimately, I did not stick to the no-poo do because as my hair grew it was difficult to get the scalp clean with the baking soda method. Also, my jar of baking soda in the shower kept getting too watery and the baking soda would dissolve. This resulted in a large waste of baking soda. However, I do stick to some of the principles of the no-poo do. I wash my hair much less frequently, use many less chemicals, and brush nearly every night with a boar bristle brush.

Bottom Line: Works great for short hair because you can reach the roots easily. Long hair is difficult!

Namaste

Cassandra

Leave a comment