Natural Skincare

I have been devoted to chemical free skincare for years and now it’s time to share the wonders of what I’ve learned!

WP_20150906_001

First things first, we all have different skin types and what works for me might not be as effective for you, but it is a good place to start!

Next order of business, if you aren’t eating well, this routine will not be nearly as effective as it could be. WATER is the most important ingredient to healthy skin. Avoiding sugar, alcohol, and dairy are the next steps.

My facial skincare routine looks something like this:

In the morning:

Splash VERY cold water on face (it’s a circulation thing).

Use witch hazel as a toner.

Moisturize face with Cetaphil facial moisturizer with SPF 15 -I have struggled to decide whether I would rather use some chemicals and protect my skin with spf or go bare. I go back and forth, but at the end of the day I feel the small amount of chemicals is not significant considering all the other ways I have reduced chemical exposure in my life. I choose cetaphil because it is gentle, light, and isn’t as bad as many of the alternatives.

In the evening:

Rub 1/4 teaspoon of coconut oil on my face to remove makeup- I like to do a facial lymph massage while I do this. Circulation is important for great skin. After my mini massage I soak a clean washcloth in hot (but not too hot!) water and place it over my face for 30 seconds. Rinse and repeat. Pat face dry with a hand towel. I use 1 towel specifically for my face and change it every few days for a clean towel.

Rub 1/2 teaspoon of honey on slightly damp face. Let sit for a minute and then rinse with warm water.

Tone face with witch hazel.

Pat on vitamin e oil around eyes- use ring finger because it is the weakest.

Moisturize with a thick night cream- I like Nivea. Just regular old nivea, not anything special. I choose nivea because it is thick, but doesn’t clog up my pores and it doesn’t have tons of chemicals.

This may seem like a lot, but I think of it as 5 minute pampering session. I also do not do every part, everyday. Your skin changes based on weather, hormones, and food. So I adapt when necessary, but for the most part I stick to this.

If my face has been breaking out a lot or looks dull I will use a wet washcloth to lightly scrub or add some turmeric to honey and let it sit on my face for 20 minutes. Beware, turmeric stains clothes, but it is an amazing face mask!

If you struggle with adult acne (I could write a whole post about this!) it is likely a food allergy or hormonal thing. I found Vitex, an herbal supplement, helped me a lot with the hormonal acne, while following an elimination diet helped me determine foods that caused issues.

If you have questions send a message/e-mail my way!

Namaste

Cassandra

Leave a comment